Textile Museum of Canada - Digital Threads

How to use Digital Threads

If you are a student (secondary or postsecondary)

  1. Choose one of the five artworks to research as a topic for an essay or as inspiration for your own digital artwork. You can also investigate how the artists explore similar ideas in different ways. For instance, how do they approach geography? How do they approach the passage of time?
  2. Choose a few key ideas in one of the five themes to focus on for a research project. For instance, in Clothing and Communication, consider these questions: what ideas or emotions do different styles of clothing communicate? How do they communicate these ideas or emotions? Examine the related exhibitions and follow the links to Collection Connections. View the online records of the Textile Museum of Canada’s collection in order to frame answers to these questions, and to raise new paths of inquiry.
  3. After exploring the five themes, five artists’ projects and several of the related exhibitions and collection textiles, go to the Studio to try out different ways to combine components the artists have used in their projects.

If you are a teacher

  1. Each of the five artist projects can lead to investigations of related material. For instance, after viewing Scheuing’s site, Walking the Line, your students may want to spend some time on Google Earth. Chan’s site, Everyday Blue, Green, Red and Yellow, may provoke a desire to find out more about the Orchid Pavilion and the traditions associated with poetry in Confucian China. Berzowska’s narrative piece may lead to a discussion of styles of journaling, or to an inquiry into technological textiles. Thomas’s Great Tree of Peace can stimulate an inquiry into the many ways peace can be sought as a worldwide goal. Angus’ Til Death Do Us Part may suggest an inquiry into the “collecting bug” – what makes people collect things? Do all people collect the same kinds of things?
  2. The online database of 50 exhibitions and thousands of textiles provides a valuable research tool for educators and their students to use in investigating a variety of topics in disciplines such as visual art, fashion and anthropology.
  3. The Studio offers an introduction to a learning modality known as “in the style of….”. Students experiment with the different styles of experienced artists, deconstructing and reconfiguring components as they develop their own maturing styles.

If you are a lifelong learner

As a many-layered online experience, Digital Threads offers a variety of entry points. Here are a few suggestions for a freewheeling, curiosity-driven exploration of the site.

  1. Move through the artist projects one by one, revealing their hidden insights and surprises as you go. After you have seen all the artworks, go back to one of the themes and follow the links to the related Textile Museum of Canada exhibitions. Each exhibition description offers morsels of the history of contemporary Canadian textile art and of the state of life in Canada in the last 20 years.
  2. Look at one artist site in depth and then explore the related exhibitions. The Textile Museum of Canada’s exhibitions are at the vanguard of a worldwide interest in connections between traditional and contemporary expressions of culture.
  3. Look at one exhibition site in depth by examining images of its installation and its textiles. Click on Collection Connections, which will take you to the online records of TMC textiles that appeared in the exhibition. Now you can search for related objects in the Textile Museum of Canada’s database of textiles from around the world.
  4. When you have finished exploring, go to the Studio to experiment with elements of the five artists’ projects.
Canadian Hertiage

Textile Museum of Canada - Fils numériques

Comment utiliser Fils Numériques

Si vous êtes étudiant (secondaire, cégep, poste secondaire)

  1. Sélectionnez une des cinq œuvres d’art comme sujet de dissertation ou comme inspiration pour créer votre propre œuvre d’art numérique. Vous pouvez aussi examiner comment les artistes envisagent singulièrement des idées et des concepts semblables. Par exemples, la façon dont ils sondent la géographie ou le passage du temps.
  2. Avec un projet de recherche en tête, choisissez quelques idées clés d’un des cinq thèmes. Par exemples, en navigant La communication par le vêtement, posez vous ces questions : Quelles idées ou émotions communiquent-ils différent vêtements ? Comment transmettent-ils ces idées ou ces émotions ? Examinez les expositions connexes et suivez les liens jusqu’aux Connexions à la Collection. Examinez les records en ligne de la collection du Textile Museum of Canada afin de répondre ces questions ou même pour forger vos propres enquêtes.
  3. Lorsque vous avez exploré les cinq thèmes, les cinq œuvres d’art, quelques-unes des expositions connexes et des textiles de la collection, passez à l’Atelier pour expérimenter avec les différentes façons de combiner les éléments qu’utilisent les artistes dans leurs œuvres d’art numériques.

Si vous êtes éducateur

  1. Chacune des cinq oeuvres d’art peut mener à des investigations connexes. Par exemples, après avoir exploré l’œuvre de Ruth Scheuing, Walking The Lines, vos étudiants voudront peut-être utilisez le logiciel de la société Google, Google Earth. Le site de Kai Chan, Everyday Blue, Green, Red, and Yellow, peut provoquer le désir d’apprendre plus au sujet du poème Le pavillon des orchidées et des traditions littéraires du temps de Confucius. L’oeuvre narrative de Joanna Berzowska peut inciter une discussion sur les différents styles journalistiques ou sur l’intégration de la technologie et des textiles. L’arbre de paix de Samuel Thomas peut nous aider à songer comment la paix peut être atteinte collectivement et universellement. L’œuvre de Jennifer Angus, Til Death Do Us Part, peut inciter une enquête sur le désir délirant de collectionner : Pourquoi est-ce qu’on collectionne ? Est-ce que tout le monde collectionne de la même façon ?
  2. La base de données en ligne contient 50 expositions et des milliers de textiles, offrant un outil de recherche incomparable aux éducateurs et à leurs étudiants. Utilisez-le pour examiner une gamme de sujets reliés aux arts visuels, à la haute couture et à l’anthropologie.
  3. L’Atelier fonctionne sous la modalité d’apprentissage « au style de…>. Les étudiants expérimentent avec les différents styles des artistes chevronnées, tel que la déconstruction et le raccommodage d’éléments, tout en développant leurs propres styles.

Si vous êtes étudiant perpétuel

Fils numériques vous offre une variété de point d’entrer parmi sa stratification. Voici quelques suggestions pour une expérience moins structurée pour ceux qui ont le goût d’explorer.

  1. Naviguez les projets des cinq artistes individuellement, révélant leurs concepts et idées implicites alors que leurs surprises. Lorsque vous avez exploré les cinq œuvres d’art, suivez les liens jusqu’aux expositions connexes du TMC. Chaque exposition vous offre un aperçu de l’histoire de l’art textile contemporain Canadien et de l’état de vie au Canada pendant les dernières vingt années.
  2. Explorez profondément un des cinq sites d’artiste et visitez les expositions connexes. Les expositions du Textile Museum of Canada sont à l’avant-garde de l’intérêt universel des connexions entre les expressions culturelles traditionnelles et contemporaines.
  3. Explorez profondément une des expositions connexes en examinant les images d’installation et de textiles. Cliquez sur la Connexion à la Collection pour vous brancher aux records en ligne des textiles de la collection du TMC qui ont apparut dans l’exposition. Vous pouvez maintenant chercher autres artefacts de la collection multiculturelle du TMC.
  4. Lorsque votre exploration sera terminée, passez à l’Atelier afin d’expérimenter avec les éléments des cinq projets.
Canadian Hertiage